Passer au contenu principal
back to Info on... Research
Go Search

Research Institute for Information technology and Computer science


The 2000s saw the development of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) combining computing, internet and telecommunications widely supported by the development of microelectronics and disciplines related to information and signal processing. In addition, more fundamental research has been conducted on software systems, information systems and communication systems.

The INFORTECH Institute works in the domains of computer science, engineering science and social sciences (sociology and psychology). The collaborations created as a result of interdisciplinary research have led to the presence of a wide range of equipment and skills within the Institute. This has thus enabled INFORTECH to promote and carry out research activities in the fields of information technology and computer science, as well as in industrial applications. The Institute also aims for a better dissemination of results for educational and research purposes inside and outside the University.

INFORTECH closely collaborates with Research Centres in the field of information technology, namely MULTITEL and CETIC, which are officially recognised by the Région wallonne (Belgian regional Government).

The Institute assembles all divisions within the Computer Science Department of the Faculty of Science, the divisions within the Computer and Management Sciences Department and Electrical Engineering Department of the Faculty of Engineering, the Educational Technology Division of the Faculty of Psychology and Education, and the Multimedia Service for Studies and Research (CERM) of the Faculty of Translation and Interpretation.



Pr.Pierre Manneback
Tel: +32 (0) 65/37.40.50
E-mail :

Some figures
on the Institute

4 Faculties

13 research departments

26 academic staff

95 assistants and researchers, half of whom are doctoral students

18 accepted projects, which include 5 European, 1 national, 4 funded by the Wallonia-Brussels Federation (FWB), and, 8 funded by the Région wallonne.

7 PhD theses